Kyoto can be divided into six sightseeing districts, each of which is covered by one of our walking tours:

  1. Northern Higashiyama (Ginkaku-ji, Path of Philosophy etc)
  2. Southeast Kyoto (Fushimi-Inari, Tofuku-ji etc)
  3. Southern Higashiyama (Chion-in, Kiyomizu etc)
  4. Gion (Geisha district etc)
  5. Arashiyama/west side (Bamboo Forest, Kinkaku-ji etc)
  6. Northern Mountains (Kurama, Kibune etc)

Here are a few notes on each tour to help you decide which walks are right for you:

Walk 1: Northern Higashiyama Highlights and Secrets

For those who want to escape the crowds and enjoy some quieter temples and shrines, this is a good choice. It’s a contemplative stroll. About 15 minutes travel time from downtown.

Walk 2: Tofuku-ji Temple to Fushimi-Inari Taisha Shrine

Great for active people who want to combine an easy hike, some beautiful gardens and the wonders of Fushimi-Inari without most of the crowds. This is good with kids. About 20 minutes from downtown.

Walk 3: Classic Southern Higashiyama

An excellent choice for your first time in the city and a good orientation tour. You’ll see temples ranging from small and quiet to soaring and popular. And you can continue on your own to the famous Kiyomizu-dera. Minimal travel time from downtown.

Walk 4: Gion Evening Walk

For those who want to learn about geisha and enjoy the magic of Gion by night. Short but sweet. Minimal travel time from downtown.

Walk 5: Arashiyama

With the Bamboo Forest, Okochi-Sano and Tenryu-ji temple, this is sure to please both adults and children. About 30 minutes from downtown.

Kyoto Walk 6: Kurama to Kibune

If you want to escape the city and do a beautiful hike with a bit of culture along the route, this is a great choice. About 50 minutes from downtown.